With the new EEA and Norway Grants Fund for Regional Cooperation, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway support European cross-border and transnational project initiatives.

Cross-border and transnational cooperation is a key driver to find shared solutions to Europe’s common challenges. In recognition of this, the donor countries of the EEA and Norway Grants – Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway – have for the EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021 period increased their funding to promote such collaboration.

Strengthening regional cross-border and transnational cooperation
Whereas the majority of EEA and Norway Grants funding is tailor-made to national initiatives and bilateral cooperation between the donor and beneficiary countries, the EEA and Norway Grants Fund for Regional Cooperation targets projects strengthening cross-border and transnational cooperation between the donor countries, the beneficiary countries and ten non-EU Member States.

Priority sectors
The €34.5 million Fund supports cooperation in the form of knowledge sharing, exchange of good practice and capacity building across the priority sectors of the EEA and Norway Grants 2014-2021:

  • Innovation, Research, Education and Competitiveness;
  •  Social Inclusion, Youth Employment and Poverty Reduction;
  •  Environment, Energy, Climate Change and Low Carbon Economy;
  •  Culture, Civil Society, Good Governance and Fundamental Rights and Freedoms;
  •  Justice and Home Affairs

Read more about the priority sectors here.

Cooperation between entities in at least three countries
The projects supported must be regional cross-border or transnational in nature and involve multiple partners and activities in different countries. Eligible entities must apply as a consortium, consisting of entities from a minimum of three countries.

Entities in these countries are eligible for funding:

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Albania
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

The following documents constitute the legally binding framework which applies to the Fund:

What will be supported?
Funding will be allocated to support inclusive dialogue and the strengthening of cross-border and transnational networks, capacity building, knowledge sharing and policy exchange to accelerate innovation; the development of sustainable cooperation structures between the business sector, public sector, civil sector and academia; and engagements contributing to and enhancing effectiveness and efficiency in policy development and responses to common European challenges.

Working together for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe
Through the EEA and Norway Grants, the donor countries are contributing to reducing social and economic disparities in Europe and strengthening bilateral relations between Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway and 15 beneficiary countries in Northern, Central and Southern Europe.

The new Fund is an added value to the rest of the EEA and Norway Grants funding due to its European cross-border and transnational focus.

€15 million is made available in the first call for proposals. Deadline for the first step of the application process is 01.07.2018. Projects are expected to start in 2019.